The Islamic Months

There are many things one needs to memorize; here is a simple list of names of the Islamic months.

The Islamic calendar is based on the year prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) and his fellow Muslims (known as Sahabah, the Companions) emigrated to Madinah in the year 622 C.E. (Christian era). The emigration took place after thirteen years of maltreatment by the disbelievers of Makkah. By the command of God, the Holy Prophet (peace be upon him) left the city with his companion Hazrat Abu Bakr Siddique r.a and escaped a death threat by the disbelievers. The event marks the beginning of a second phase of the Islamic movement. It is the phase when Madinah became the centre of an Islamic state.

The Islamic calendar is lunar. Each month must begin with the evening when the new moon is visible by the unaided naked eye. Muslims are obligated to sight the crescent in every country. Different countries may begin the year at different days based on their own sightings. The calendar is called Hijri calendar. The Arabic word Hijrah means emigration.

The Islamic Months

The names of the twelve Islamic months are as follows:

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabiul-Awwal
  4. Rabi-uthani
  5. Jumadi-ul-Awwal
  6. Jumadi-uthani
  7. Rajab
  8. Sha’ban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhil-Q’ada
  12. Dhil-Hijja

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s